Consciousness ∞ The Doorway to Human Evolution
EvolutionFM (Podcast)
The Inner Journey of One of Silicon Valley’s Top Growth Leaders (Andy Johns)
2
0:00
-49:33

The Inner Journey of One of Silicon Valley’s Top Growth Leaders (Andy Johns)

Mental health for ambitious people can be very hard. Here is Andy's story
2

Listen on Itunes, Spotify, or Youtube.

I’m getting excited about how many business leaders I am seeing that are starting to engage in the inner work and the exploration of consciousness. It seems like there are more and more leaders everyday opening up about parts of their life outside of killin’ it.

Today’s guest, Andy Johns, is someone I have followed since 2016 when I participated in a startup growth program called Reforge where he was a guest lecturer.

In my opinion, Andy is one of the most prolific startup growth executives in the past 10-15 years having been a leader at 8 consecutive billion dollar startups including Facebook, Twitter, Wealthfront, Quora, and others. He’s also helped lots of emergent growth leaders along the way as “growth” started to become a formalized function in startups.

In this conversation, Andy shares his personal experience of working on his mental health and consciousness through the context of being an ambitious person in the world of high growth startups. I admire his courage to share his experience and at a certain point in his journey, step away to focus on this part of his life with all of his energy.

Though I didn’t leave my startup, in many ways I can relate to his story where it felt like my spiritual awakening basically took over my life for a number of years. I was at my startup physically, but somewhere completely different on the inside. It can be a very humbling and difficult to situation to navigate, so I applaud anyone who not only pushes through this path, but is brave enough to talk publicly about it.

This conversation covers lots of meaty topics. Things like:

  • What do you do when you no longer care about the same things as your peers and even friends?

  • Trying to figure out what you even like when you realize you’ve just been a ball of conditioned ideas for most of your life

  • What role do things like psychedelics play in all of this? (Hint, it’s not all just gravy!)

I found the conversation with Andy to be very thought provoking & enjoyable and I think you will too.

If you want to follow more of his work, I recommend checking out his Substack

to stay up to date on his writings and new projects that we talk about in the episode!

Big love,

-Scott

If you like reading and listening to this, feel free to click the ❤️ button on this post so more people can discover it on Substack 🙏

Join 16,000+ Subscribers For Updates on New Episodes

2 Comments
Consciousness ∞ The Doorway to Human Evolution
EvolutionFM (Podcast)
We are living during the most exciting time in history to be a human being. Our understanding of consciousness and human evolution is starting to take shape as humanity moves into the next phase of its journey. This show explores these topics with host Scott Britton and a wide range of guests who are seeking to understand how to live and love life with an open heart. We will be discussing spirituality, consciousness, ancient and modern technologies, and how to apply these ideas to a modern life.